Karen Mitchell's blog

Looking for a Michigan Author to read? Place holds now on these New Titles!

We Sinners by Hanna PylvainenWe Sinners by Hanna Pylvainen ~ "This stunning debut novel tells the story of an unforgettable family of eleven, driven apart and bound together by their conservative faith."

 

 


Red Jack by Joseph HeywoodRed Jacket: a Lute Bapcat Mystery by Joseph Heywood ~ "A new historical mystery set in 1913, featuring rough rider turned game warden Lute Bapcat, a violent miners' strike, deadly sabotage, and the intentional destruction of wildlife."

 

 

Looking for a New Book to read? Place holds now on these New Titles!

Cat in a White Tie and Tails by Carole Nelson Douglas ~ "Midnight Louie is the funniest, hairiest, hard-boiled PI on the planet." - Janet Evanovich
The Spymasters: a Men at War novel by W.E.B. Griffin ~ "A master of the genre and a wonderful storyteller." - Charleston Post and Courier
The St. Zita Society by Ruth Rendell ~ "Unequivocally the most brilliant mystery writer of our time." - Patricia Cornwell
A Hundred Flowers by Gail Tsukiyama ~ "Tsukiyama has long been known for her emotional and detailed stories." - Lisa See

Looking for a New Fantasy to read? Place holds now on this New Title!

A Guile of Dragons: A Tournament of Shadows, Book One by James Enge
"I could read him forever and never get bored" - Lev Grossman, author of The Magicians

 

 

This is the last week of the Adult Summer Reading Program!

The Adult Summer Reading Program is almost over! The last day to turn in an entry form is Sunday, August 12th -- entering five forms makes you eligible to attend the Library Luau on Thursday, August 16th.

Looking for a New Romance to read? Place holds now on these New Titles!

Can't Hurry Love by Molly O'Keefe - the sequel to Can't Buy Me Love - fans of Toni Blake and Jill Shalvis may enjoy this series.
Bared to You by Sylvia Day - first in the new Crossfire series - for Fifty Shades of Grey fans or if you're still waiting to read the series by E. L. James.
Persuasion by Brenda Joyce - after Seduction in The SpyMasters Men series. 

 

Looking for a New Thriller to read? Place holds now on these New Titles!

The Empty Glass

  • The TrustThe Empty Glass by J. I. Baker - "J. I. Baker has spun a gripping, pulse-pounding conspiracy around an American tragedy." - Andrew Gross
    The Trust by Norb Vonnegut - "If anybody can turn international finance into a riveting thriller, it's Norb Vonnegut." - Jeffery Deaver  

 

 

Looking for a New Military Thriller to read? Place holds now on this New Title!

The Renegades by Tom Young - a military thriller set in Afghanistan.
"Fans of Clancy and Coonts need to add Young to their must-read lists." - Booklist
  

 

Have you joined the Adult Summer Reading Program?

Join the Adult Summer Reading Program today by simply filling out an entry form for each book you read this summer!
After you complete 5 entry forms you'll be invited to the Library Luau August 16th.

Looking for a New Romance to read? Place holds now on these New Titles!

At Last by Jill Shalvis 
"Count on Jill Shalvis for a witty, steamy, unput-downable love story." - Robyn Carr

Once Burned: a Night Prince novel by Jeaniene Frost
"There are many Draculas out there, but only one Vlad!" - Ilona Andrews

Scandal Wears Satin by Loretta Chase
"One of the finest romance authors of all time." - Julia Quinn