National Library Week - April 13 - 19

Fun Sites for Kids

smiley face

Arthur - http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/arthur/
Visit the web site of Marc Brown's popular character Arthur. Find out about his show on PBS, send Arthur a drawing or a letter, and meet Arthur's family and friends.

Brain Candy - http://www.vat19.com/brain-candy/
A simple site with brain teasers like "License PL8 Puzzles" and oddball facts like "Accidental Inventions".

Cartoon Network - http://www.cartoonnetwork.com
Play action and adventure games, watch cartoon shorts or play games related to your favorite shows.

Dav Pilkey's Web Site O' Fun - http://www.pilkey.com
Meet Dav Pilkey, author and illustrator of Dog Breath, Dogzilla, Kat Kong, and more, when you visit this humorous site. Print out coloring pages featuring his crazy characters, play trivia games, learn about his books, and more.

Enchanted Learning - www.enchantedlearning.com/rhymes.html
Designed for preschoolers and kindergarteners. Print out nursery rhymes, create your own nursery rhyme calendar and participate in a scavenger hunt.

Fun Brain - http://www.funbrain.com
Printable fun and games for students K-8, as well as resources for parents and teachers. Play Math Baseball, Grammar Gorillas or just Connect the Dots.

Kids Psych - http://www.kidspsych.org/index1.htm
Kids, help Oochy and Oochina solve puzzles while you learn to think creatively. Match shapes, play "I Spy" and help Oochina with an archeology trip.

Learning Planet - http://www.learningplanet.com/kids.htm  
Games for preschoolers to 6th grade. Play games in all sorts of subjects including math, geography and reading.

Nick - http://www.nick.com
The official site for Nickelodeon. This site contains dozens of games including Jimmy Neutron's Spaceblast 3D game.  You can also participate in multi-player games with other kids from around the world, create a funky face and play games related to Nick shows like iCarly and Iron Man.

Nick Jr. - http://www.nickjr.com
Playing a game with Olivia or Little Bill sound like fun? You can choose from several games featuring Nick Jr. characters. Read along with stories featuring Dora the Explorer or sing with Oswald.

Pauly's Playhouse - http://www.paulysplayhouse.com
Online interactive games and activities for children ages 3 and up.  No login is required and no personal information is collected.

PBS Kids and PBS Kids Sprout - http://www.pbskids.org and www.sproutletsgrow.com
PBS provides lots of popular (and often educational) television programming for children.  These two links lead to information and games tied to almost all of their shows.

Puzzle Maker - http://www.puzzlemaker.com
Create and print your very own word puzzles including word searches and crossword puzzles.

Scholastic Family Playground - http://www.scholastic.com/parents/play/
Find games and activities related to many favorite Scholastic Book series, like I-Spy, The Magic Schoolbus, and Clifford the Big Red Dog.

Story Place - http://www.storyplace.org
Visit this site to read stories for kids of all ages.  Read the stories online and see them come alive onscreen.  Also includes interactive games and printable crafts and activity sheets.

Yak's Corner - http://www.yakscorner.com
Visit this site created by the Detroit Free Press and learn about animals, see what's making news, read about interesting people, get new recipes, and more.